Associate Pastors

Nick Carter
Pastor of Worship and Stewardship

Nick was the senior minister of a large church like UCCH in Massachusetts for 11 years. He was also the CEO of a multi-million member peace and justice organization and the Vice President of a for-profit company that specialized in public-private partnerships. That variety of experience turned out to be the ideal preparation for his 10 year service as President of Andover Newton Theological School in Boston and, for the past year, the interim President of the American Baptist Seminary of the West in Berkeley CA. Nick and his wife (Rev. Dr.) Debbi live in Fearrington. They have one son, Isaac, who is a chef in Massachusetts.

E: ncarter@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 108

Susan Steinberg
Associate Pastor for Faith Formation

Susan received her M. Div. Degree from Vanderbilt University. She and her husband, Steve Farmer, have two children, Henry Farmer and Anna Farmer.

E: ssteinberg@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 106

David Mateo
Associate Pastor of Outreach and Language Ministries

David graduated from the PLD (Pastoral Leadership Program) program of the UCC, and a Master of Divinity from Lancaster Theological Seminary; Lancaster, PA.

E: dmateo@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 101

Program Staff

Anitra Grove
Director for Children’s Ministry

Anitra received her BS in Child Development from Meredith College and holds a Birth-Kindergarten teaching license from UNC-CH. Anitra has worked 20 years with children and families as a teacher, director of a child care program, a mentor teacher, early childhood consultant, and trainer. Anitra has been a member of UCCH for 5 years. Anitra, her husband, Neil, and two children, Anna, and John, enjoy a peaceful life in Hillsborough, NC.

E: agrove@unitedchurch.org

Alyson Breisch
Director of Congregational Care

UCC Commissioned Minister of Congregational Health. She has a MS in Nursing and a Post-Master’s Certificate in Health and Nursing Ministries from Duke School of Nursing and Duke Divinity School and is a long-time member of United Church.

E: abreisch@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 102

Katherine Henderson
Youth Director

Katherine is pursuing a Master of Divinity via Chicago Theological Seminary’s online / low-residency program, working toward ordination in the United Church of Christ.

E: khenderson@unitedchurch.org

Music Ministry Staff

Jenny Anderson
Director of Music

Jenny received a BA and MAT in Music from Rollins College in Florida. She directs the Children’s, Youth and Chancel Choirs and the Chancel Handbells. In addition she coordinates the music program and provides support to the wonderful volunteer group leaders.

E: janderson@unitedchurch.org
Ph:919-942-3540, ext. 105

Mary Beth Petersen
Organist & Keyboard Coordinator

Mary Beth received a B.Music from Meredith College in Raleigh, NC. She also completed 1 1/2 years of seminary study at SEBTS in Wake Forest. Mary Beth resides in Durham where she teaches piano students of all ages.

E: mpetersen@unitedchurch.org

Gillian Fields
Youth Choir Assistant

Gillian E. Fields is a native of Raleigh, North Carolina. Gillian earned a Bachelor of Music degree with a concentration in voice performance from Meredith College located in Raleigh, North Carolina. Gillian attended The Hartt School of Music at the University of Hartford in Connecticut and earned a Masters of Music degree with a concentration in voice performance. Gillian is excited to become a part of the Music Ministry at United Church of Chapel Hill and to share God’s gift that she has been blessed to receive.

E: gfields@unitedchurch.org

Office Staff

Rinnie Orr
Office & Communication Manager

E: office@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 100

Duane Gilbert
Business Manager

E: dgilbert@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 103

Claudia Galvez
Administrative Assistance

E: cgalvez@unitedchurch.org
P: 919-942-3540, ext. 110

Support Staff (Not pictured)

Mary Glish, United Church Preschool Director

UCP is a half-day preschool program that services the United Church community
E: director@unitedchurchpreschool.com

Alison Robertson, Nursery Director

Claudia Galvez & Sandra Hernandez, Custodians

Mirna Rodriguez, Kitchen Manager